SURGERY- week 1 update

So going in for surgey, I always wonder will I wake up? Will there be complications? This time was way worse, anxiety was off the roof, thankfully pete stayed with me until I went into the operating room, my heart was racing as they hooked all the machines up and then stuck a oxygen mask on and then pumped in the medicine to put me to sleep! That was the last thing I remember the doctor asking about my family while injecting me! I woke up and felt terrible the pain was incredible and I could not keep my eyes open for long periods, I was in recovery longer than expected, when they finially took me to my ward my family was waiting and I was so happy to see them, but wow the pain was so intense I could not move. I was on a pain pump and this continued for 3 days, had the catheter in for 2 days, I started moving around on day 2 but wow it was extremely hard! This would have to be the worse surgey I’ve had pain wise. Spent 5dsys in hospital, and on so many pain meds it still hurts to fart and poo!

So today week 1 pre op pain has eased heaps but is still uncomfortable and enough to make me miserable- all I’ve done is rest rest and more rest, it hurts to move around m, my wound looks like it is healing but has opened up in a couple of places and cause it’s still swollen and under my loose skin I’m afraid it’s gonna sweat too much and get an infection. Feelings are all mixed up, I’m quite and a little withdrawn even pete said I’m a little different. I miss exercising I hate eating the wrong foods cause I can’t cook so I grab the first thing in cupboards. I honestly thought it would be quicker healing than this, but I guess it will happen it is only week 1! My tummy is still tender and not being able to poo isn’t helping, even with laxatives it’s now been 2 days since I’ve been. I’m literally doing as I’m told and resting even tho I’m sure it’s not helping my mental state. 5 weeks to go before I’m back at one job, as I can’t lift heavy for 12weeks so the other one has to wait . And 5 weeks until I can go back to mum.fit clssses, I’ll be doing them slowly, I am afraid I’ve gone ten steps back body and weight wise! Part of my stomach is numb I have heard this is normal, but the swelling/bloating I honestly thought would of gone even with all the resting, and it hasn’t gone down at all 😒. I know I’ve been through heaps and it will take time, but knowing your going backwards is a complete mental block!

So anyway I haven’t felt the pain I had before surgery so that is something positive, and the surgical pain is easing it’s probably a quarter of what is was, so that’s something. One day one step at a time!

Leave a comment